: 2014 Nobel Peace Prize recipients Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzai. Photo: (Kailash Satyarthi) Senado Federal. (Flickr)/(Malala Yousafzai) Prime Minister’s Office (Flickr)

Nobel Peace Prize 2014 to Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzai

Last updated: 10.10.2014 // The Nobel Peace Prize for 2014 has been awarded the Indian child rights activist Kailash Satyarthi and the Pakistani children’s education activist Malala Yousafzai.

The Nobel Peace Prize for 2014 was awarded for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people, and for the right of all children to education.

In his announcement, Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee Thorbjørn Jagland praised Mr. Satyarthi’s personal courage.

“Kailash Satyarthi, maintaining Gandhi’s tradition, has headed various forms of protests and demonstrations, all peaceful, focusing on the grave exploitation of children for financial gain. He has also contributed to the development of important international conventions on children’s rights.”

Mr. Jagland pointed out that Ms. Yousafzai has fought for several years for the right of girls to education despite her young age.

“(She) has shown by example that children and young people, too, can contribute to improving their own situations. This she has done under the most dangerous circumstances. Through her heroic struggle she has become a leading spokesperson for girls’ rights to education.”

Prime Minister Erna Solberg congratulated Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzai on the award of the Nobel Peace Prize and said that children’s rights is a topic close to her heart.

“An education is the most important thing we can give our children. Education helps to lift children out of poverty and secure their rights. Education is essential for peace and sustainable development,” Ms. Solberg said. 

This year there were 278 nominees to the Nobel Peace Prize, the largest number of nominations ever received. 

The Nobel Peace Prize is presented in Oslo on 10 December each year.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee’s announcement
Press release from the Office of the Prime Minister